R-LeStats, 11/22/2017

Sitting near under the crystal chandelier

better stand clear before it crashes down

but it seems I don’t fear the idea of wealth and fortune falling in my lap

so I take another lap on this track in my head running over thoughts again and again

repeating myself and repeating myself and repeating myself

until I get it right the conversation from last night or last week

a jumbled mess in this mind that used to be so neat and orderly

until the focus went away and I can’t bring myself to concentrate

on the things in front of me like the coffee stains and chips

on the table worn from laptops and textbooks and feet resting

from running around all day and the places left to go and the places that they’ll stay

is it too late for this drink caffeine sipping till I’m sick but the warmth keeps me

coming back for more and I’ll lose some sleep but that’s no anomaly

with all the tosses and the turns that my body seems to yearn for

each and every night as I battle with the darkness and the light

as it comes in through the blinds and I can’t make up my mind

about how to spend my time when I’m not at my 9-5

or 1-10 it’s always changing maybe that’s why I’m going crazy

stability is hard to find when you’re up late and early

they say sleep is so important but we have to finish our lists

of everything that needs to be done groceries bills and a little fun

keep us medicated and sedated from the hell thats going on

in wars and crimes and guns people kill and hurt one another

friends and strangers family and lovers we should all just love each other

but I still honk my horn at the woman in the slow car gripping the wheel

like it’s a lifeline I feel like I’m running out of time for my moment

to shine or fade away into a never ending daze of what ifs

and rainy days thinking wouldn’t it be nice to have made it in the light

 

I’ve found that writing poetry is a bit like journaling for me. It allows me to take that which is troubling me or on my mind and work it out in the form of words and rhymes (that was an unintentional rhyme). This was written while at my favorite coffee shop in San Diego; I let my mind wander and wrote whatever seemed right, letting things flow. 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑